Lizel Strömberg

Photographing at Way Out West!
 
Last week, Way Out West was held in Gothenburg. For those who doesn't know what it is, it's one of Sweden's biggest music festivals. In many years, I've been curious how it is at a festival and this year I got the opportunity to photograph during one. 
 
As a photographer for Popmani, I got to be one of the photographers to report from Way Out West. It was my first time attending a music festival and also having a photo pass. It was a strange feeling to be in the photo pit instead of the audience. I had so much space to move around and I had to think about where I should stand to get my pictures as good as possible. 
 
 
It was interesting to see how the press and people within the media and music industry are working behind the scenes. If you only knew how much more work there is behind the concerts, articles and the videos people are making. 
 
 
Despite the lack of sleep, and insecurity I felt since my camera equipment was nowhere as good as the others,  I had so much fun photographing during the festival. OutKast, Veronica Maggio and Mapei were few of those artists that I photographed. I also shot some streetstyle with Ellen from the fashion editorial staff for our website.
 
 
 
 
You can go to http://popmani.se to see the pictures I took, but also read the articles the editorializer wrote about the concerts. Plus there's more pictures from the other photographer which was there to shoot as well. 
 
 
 
This was a really good experience to get and I learned a lot from it. I'm grateful for getting the opportunity to do this!