Lizel Strömberg

Pancake Day/Fettisdagen
 
Two days ago, it was Pancake day, but not here in Sweden. Instead we had a day called "Fettisdagen" where we eat Semla instead of pancakes that everyone else in the world does. Semla is a pastry and it looks like this:
 
 
It's some kind of bread with almond icing in the middle together with whip cream. Most Swedes eat it as it is, but my family has always eaten it with warm milk. Whenever I tell people I eat Semla with warm milk in a bowl, they get so confused because often they have never heard someone eat a semla like that. 
 
 
I really like Semla and even if I'm lactose intolerant, I can't keep myself from eating it. Luckly there are medicine for me to take whenever I eat food with lactose in it, so my tummy can handle it. 
 
P.S. As some of you know, I've done press for Melodifestivalen in Gothenburg. Don't worry, I will publish blog posts with pictures and videos about my experiences from that within a week or two. I've already started to submit a post. Bare with me, it's coming! 
~ Stay Tuned!
#1 - a n n i k a

Gott!

Svar: Ja, det var det verkligen! Såg på din blogg att du bor i Finland, hur firar ni dagen? Har ni också "Pancake day"? ^_^
Lizel Strömberg