Lizel Strömberg

Meet & Greet - Marcus and Martinus at Hard Rock Café
 
Last week, I got invited to the meet and greet of Marcus and Martinus that took place at Hard Rock Café in Gothenburg last Sunday. Marcus and Martinus are a twin duo from Norway that release pop music. They are known for their participation in the norwegian music competition: "Melodi Grand Prix Junior" 2012 with their song "To dråper vann". Recently Marcus's and Martinus's fan base in Sweden has grown a lot and their single "Elektrisk" has become very popular in Norway but also among the young kids here in Sweden. 
 
Sony Music organised two meet and greets last week, one in Stockholm and one in Gothenburg. I got the opportunity to attend the event in Gothenburg and photograph everything that was going on during it. If I'm not mistaken, I think there were about 40 fans that won a contest to get tickets to attend the event. The audience were mostly kids from the age 5-15 years old with their parents or older siblings. I'm not used to attending a show with young fans like that, but it was fun being in a different enviroment for a change. 
After the preparations and the soundcheck it was time to let the winners of the meet and greet inside. You could feel the excitment in the air. While the fans were waiting for the event to start, they were singing along to the songs that were playing and some parents stood in line to buy some merchandise for their children. 
The event started off with Nina from Sony Music who welcomed everyone to the meet and greet. Marcus and Martinus hit the stage with their two backup dancers. They performed three or four songs (can't really remember how many), but the closing number was of course their single "Elektrisk".
Some times, I forget how tall Swedes actually are, despite that the fans were much younger than I am, a lot of them were taller than me. I had some problems taking pictures during the performance but I did the best of the situation and got some pretty decent pictures anyway.
After the performance it was time for a small Q&A with the boys before it was time for the fans to meet their idols. Everything was planned in a great way to make sure everyone got their time with Marcus and Martinus, to take a professional picture together, get their autograph and also a selfie if they wanted one.
 
I must say, Marcus and Martinus did a great job and they were very professional in their way to perform but also in the way they interacted with their fans. They were very sweet and made sure everyone got their photo taken and their merchandise signed. Also how they interacted were very genuine and they made jokes, hugged their fans tight and even carried some of the smallest children in their arms. It was very cute to see. 
 
The little girl in the photo below, was very cute. She had stood in line for a while to meet the boys. Once she got up on stage, one of the boys greeted her with such energy together with a hug, which I think took her by surprised. It made her start crying and wanted to be let go to walk over to her mum. She was a bit afraid and couldn't stop crying, so they had to walk off the stage without getting their photo taken. Poor girl. Hopefully they got their photo taken later on. 
These kind of events are one of the things I love to photograph and hopefully I will be able to do more of this kind of stuff in the future! To end this blog post I just want to say a big thank you to Nina from Sony Music for inviting me to the event, for having such positive energy and for believing in me as a photographer. I had so much fun attending the event and photographing during it! You all did a great job for organizing the event and as a fan of a lot of music, I know how much the fans appreciated being able to attend it! 
I'm sure we will hear a lot more from these boys, and I'm looking forward to see how far they will get since I can see there are some potential in them!