Lizel Strömberg

Sommartorsdagarna | Albin & Mattias featuring Niello
Every year since 27 years back, Borås city has organized the event "Sommartorsdagarna" at the town's square which is held every summer during seven weeks every Thursday. It's an event that invites the citizens of Borås and visitors to one of Sweden's biggest free event. During the event there is different kinds of entertainment. They have set up three stages: one for kids, one for those who like "Dansband" and the main stage.
 
In simply words, the set up is that the event begins around 5pm. Kids can get face painting, play around and then the first performance starts at 7pm which is the opening act. Later on, the music competition "Svensktoppen nästa" is held where the finale takes place in Gothenburg in September. One of the awards in the finale is a spot in Melodifestivalen next year. The headline starts at 9pm and almost the whole city gets together to see the show. 
This time around, Carol and I went to Borås to see Albin & Mattias. I have seen the duo before when I did press for Melodifestivalen but also at RIXFM Festival where they only peformed three songs. So I was very excited to finally see Albin and Mattias do a full show with their own live band!
 
Since I was working during the day, we went to Borås later on in the evening. We arrived to the town's square around 6-7pm. We decided to walk around to photograph some of the things that were going on. 
We found this adorable dog that we just had to photograh!
We sure got some weird looks while photographing in different angles. But what to do? We had to get our shots. ;)
When it was about an hour left, we decided to take our spots infront of the stage. We saw some of the contestants of "Svensktoppen Nästa" perform. From what I saw, there was no act that got me interested to hear more of. 
 
At 9pm, it was time for Albin & Mattias to hit the stage!
- They started off with the song "En Sista Gång"! 
 
Their set list contained songs from Albin's album "Dyra Tårar" which Mattias has been working on as well but also from their latest EP "Insomnia" where Mattias has co-written and are featuring on. 
 
Between the uptempo songs, they slowed down the tempo and sang "Frank", which is one of my favorite song by them. 
Albin & Mattias had a guest performer named Niello. The three lads sang their song "Backa" and Albin & Mattias backed Niello up when he sang his song "Legenden".  
 
As the old E.M.D. fan I am, I love seeing how much Mattias has grown since the band decided to split up.
 
I love how much more confident Mattias looks in what he does now and he seems to have found his element in his music. Despite how much I loved E.M.D. back in the days, I enjoy seeing Mattias and the other guys going solo more since the music they do now, feels more true to who they are now. 
One of the best things with the show and Albin & Mattias as a duo is their chemistry! You can tell how much fun they are having and how good of friends they are by seeing them on stage! 
I loved the show and I knew a lot more songs than I thought I would, which was a pleasent suprise! Carol was amazed over Mattias's vocals and enjoyed the show a lot!
As a lot of the times, after the concert, Albin & Mattias had a signing where they get to meet the fans who came to see their show.
 
The signing was not as organized as you wish it would have been. There were too many people in line to get to meet the guys before we had to go to the bus. So, we decided to stand by the side to photograph from there.
It was a bit funny how some of the smaller children came up to Niello and asked him: "Who are you? Are you famous?". xD
Niello didn't really mind and he played it off by making jokes about it, which was fun to see!
 
Before we took the bus home, I made sure to say hi to the guys before we left. I'm happy that it seems like I made a good impact during Melfest for them to remember me on a positive note. Unfortunately, I didn't got to talk with Mattias as much but at least I got to talk to Albin and say how much I enjoyed their show. 
If you want to see more pictures from the show and things around it, make sure to check out Carol's blog as well. As some of you know, Carol is a photographer as well and these days, she comes along with me too various events and some times we walk around the city to capture photographs together.
 
We might be photographing the same objects and people sometimes, but we see things differently and we have our own style in editing, so the result turns out different. I higly recommend you to keep beeing posted for other updates on Carol's blog, she also does some amazing illustrations and designs. We will continue to work together in the future and it won't be the last you see of her here on my blog and elsewhere!
To see Carol's photographs of "Sommartorsdagarna" click on this link: HERE! <--
OR click on the picture above! 
 
- Don't hesitate to hit the like button or leave a comment below!
Until next time, take care!