Lizel Strömberg

Meeting Loreen, photographing Axel Schylström, Boris René and more!
 
The first day in Linköping was very eventful and we had several interviews scheduled during the day. Jenevia arrived earlier that day but since I had work before I could head to Linköping, I missed out on some of the interviews. 
 
Before I arrived, Jenevia interviewed Boris René and Axel Schylström. 
In Jenevia's previous interview with Axel, he was very surprised over the how much she knew about him because of the research I had done. In the interview he even said she should say hi to me, which was so random but fun! The funny thing, I didn't felt that I found that much about Axel so it was really nice to know that the research I made was appreciated. 
 
Axel is such a nice and funny guy, it's a shame that the more energetic and funny side of him doesn't really get to be shown as much as it should. Make sure to check out our interview with him in the clip down below to get a more clear view on his personality and hear him talk about Melodifestivalen, international fans and more fun things! - Love that he tells Jenevia that he's still amazed over how much we knew about him and that he got surprised over the new trivia I had found for this interview. 
 
Unfortunately, I missed out on the interivew itself but Jenevia had told Axel and his publicist that I was coming later that day and would love to get photos of Axel. They were totally fine with giving me time to get my photos later that evening. It was very nice to finally meet Axel in person, to introduce myself and give him a face to the person doing the research that he was so amazed over. 
Another artist Jenevia interviewed during that day was Boris René. We met Boris back in semifinal 1 and we were very happy to see him back and that he qualified. Doing research for the interview with Boris was very hard as they talk about in the beginning of the video. We still have to keep in mind that Boris is a newer artist. But I had gone through lots of interviews and articles but they were saying mostly the same thing. Which I think is a shame since Boris is such a good artist that has a lot of things going on for him plus he has a great personality and lots of charisma. 
  
If you want to get to know Boris René, you should watch our interview. We get to hear Boris talk about being in the Motown show with Afro-Dite, personal interest, music and more!
When I arrived to Linköping, I got to the opportunity to photograph Boris as well. He's so much fun and was being a bit silly when I photographed him but I loved it! This first photo is for sure one of my favorite photo that I've taken! I love when people do something extra for me to photograph which will make my photo stand out and not look like just another photo. 
One of the acts that I was most excited to see back in the contest was Loreen. Getting an interview with Loreen is hard and not everyone get the opportunity to do so. When we got the confirmation for our interview we still were a bit unsure because, things can always change in the last minute and we have experience that several times by now (with other people). The interviewed got pushed back but when we finally had Loreen before us, we were so happy to be getting the interview set up. We knew there are loads of international fans out there that wanting to hear more from Loreen and we wanted to interview her to post something for the non-Swedish speaking fans. 
Our interview with Loreen must be one of my favorites from this year. 
I've been following her since she competed back in 2011. I really admire her as an artist and all the humanitarian work she does. Loreen is a strong woman that works hard, she's a great vocalist, performer and puts out great music. I adore her!
 
When we are working, I'm always busy taking photos but this time I had to make sure I try to get a photo with Loreen. I was a mess that day from working at my daily job, running around and traveling but I still wanted to share the photo here since I got it. 
We thanked Loreen and soon after that we were reunited with De Vet Du!
If you thought our first interview with them were long, this second was is even longer. xD
You can tell that it had been a very long day, we were tired and things were just messy but despite that it's a very fun chat about various topics. We talked with them about their previous songs, projects, them explaining the "dad jokes" they make, the song they wrote to Penny Schulman and more!
 
In our interview due to the conversation the guys gave me compliments for some of my photos which I was happy to hear. Another thing that happens in the interview is that Jenevia pulled up a photo of Tor and Dj Hunk that I took for them to see and their reaction was very funny. The guys made her watch one of their videos called "Fartglasses" where we ended up talking about "Frasse King" which they were surprised over that we didn't liked. x)
The video might be long but there are many funny moments in it to see which I recommend you to see. If you decided to watch it, make sure to pay attention to each member because they keep doing funny faces/sounds. Also, if you really pays attention you can see DJ Hunk smiling. ;)
 
My last photo with De Vet Du was messy, we all know that so I wanted a photo with us when we look much more decent and them not looking drunk. Guess what, it turned out pretty well. I have to admit, I was worried about how it would turn out since I was having a bad headache and was super tired but I'm so happy the photo turned out as well as it was!
Through out the week we did two more one-on-one interviews, one with the FO&O and one with Anton Hagman. 
The rehearsals of the day we were going to interview FO&O were late and we didn't knew how things would worked out since FO&O were rehearsing right before the time we had set. But things worked out and we got our interview with the boys. 
 
I've been a fan of Swedish music and been around for a while so I've seen how many of the artists have grown from when they were just starting off. The same goes off for FO&O, I even met Omar briefly before the whole thing started off with the Fooo. Many people thinks that the guys in The Fooo/FO&O are just another boyband that just have been giving everything and that they don't really work as hard because they have the looks and their fangirls. From the start I've seen that there's a lot more behind what people see of FO&O. They do their own choregraphy, they have been putting out consisting music and been good at promoting themselves. Other than that, they work to contain their contact with their fans and been treating them with merch, livestreams, videos and competitions. Their fans are their everything and they have shown that repeatly and always make sure to show their appreciation for everything the fans do for them. 
I enjoyed hearing them getting to speak more in dept of their work and them as artists. I think it's not often they get to speak about the work behind the performances and everything that people only get to see on tv or hear on the radio. 
 
Anton Hagman was one of the debuting artists in Melfest. It seems like Anton was a bit popular since before from YouTube but I had actually didn't heard about him they announce the artist for Melfest. His songs "Kiss You Goodbye" is very catchy and is actually one of my favorites from this year. 
He's a very new artist and hasn't been around for that long but he has done a couple things musically before this. Anton was in a due called "JA" and have been on promotours in Singapore. In our interview you can hear him talk about "JA", music, how he felt about competing against Loreen and much more! 
It felt awesome that we could get 6 out of 8 acts for one-on-one interviews, it was also a relief since then we didn't had to stress about getting numerous interviews at the press conferences. At this time, we knew how to organize our work and how to prioritize what we should do so things felt more easier and natural than before. 
 
I hope you haven't got tired of my Melfest blog posts since there are more coming. Despite that you are not a fan of these artists or this kind of music, I hope you can enjoy seeing the photos and hearing the stories anyway. 
Until next time, ingat! 
/Lizel