Lizel Strömberg

TB - Looking back on the rehearsals during Melfest 2016
Almost a year has past since the final of Melodifestivalen 2016. 
Looking back on the experiences I got through doing press coverage of the competition made me realize how much I've grown as a person thanks to it. I've become more confident in my work but also as a person. I've made new friends, creating conctacts and becoming better at creating content. 
 
Melodifestivalen 2017 is just around the corner and I would like to share some of my last unseen photographs from last year's show. The pictures will be published in various blog posts the next upcoming week. With this post I'm starting off with photographs from the rehearsals at the final of Melfest 2016. 
The opportunity to get photographs from all of the performances were very small since there was only one day that the arena was open for the press during the rehearsals. Because of that and the fact that Jenevia and I were having one-on-one interviews at the same time, I could only get about a hand-full of artist's performances captured. 
 
One of the songs and performances I loved the most during Melfest 2016 was Panetoz's. They delivier a solid performance and song with loads of positive energy!
I've always enjoyed David Lindgren's music and performances in Melfest, last year was no exception! One of the many great things about David Lindgren is that he always put on a show worth watching. 
 
During Melfest 2017, David Lindgren is one of the hosts of the show and I'm really looking forward to see his hosting skills. 
From semi-final 1 to the finale of Melfest, Ace Wilder made her great performance once again and I was happy to see it live again and capture it. 
Capturing decent photographs of Molly Sandén's performance was very difficult because of the lightning since it was a lot of flashing lights so you had to be on que to get the light. Also, we were busy doing interviews so I didn't had the time to sit through Molly's peformance as much as I needed. I did manage to capture the picture above which I wanted to share.
Frans, the winner of Melfest 2016! 
Boris René was one of the debuting artists in the show with his song "Put Your Love On Me". Personally, I love the song and the performance was charming in a way. I highly recommend his following single "Mon Amour" as well.
The last people out to rehearse their performance was Samir & Viktor. Those goofballs saw us watching the rehearsals and was making faces to us. During the rehearsal they also revealed a change in their choregraphy which surprised most of the press who where there to document the rehearsals. 
 
I really enjoyed watching everyone's performances. I felt thankful and happy to get the opportunity to be doing press coverage and be infront of a stage like this one to capture the show that was getting shown through the tv. With no experience with doing this kind of photography and with the limited equipment I had, I think I actually did a very good job for being my first press experience. Looking forward to do more of this stuff soon!
 
As I wrote earlier, more pictures are coming soon so make sure to stay tuned on my social medias for updates!
Until next time, take care!
 
/Lizel