Lizel Strömberg

Live performances by Boris René, Nanne Grönvall, Liamoo and more at PelleKan Festival!
 
Hello everyone!
It has been a while since I last posted a proper blog post here. There have been a lot of things going on lately and I've been having a tough time to find the time and energy to create blog posts. I hate that I'm always having excuses because the lack of updates. The simple explanation to it is that I need to priority other things for example my health. I'm currently trying to structure my content better for me to be able to publish more regularly. I need to find the best way for my content. Anyway, I won't make you wait anymore time to get this post started!
 

In the beginning of the summer, I found out that Boris René was going to perform at PelleKan Festival in Mölndal. It's a big familyfestival that takes place every year. They have a campaing to learn the children in the commune about wase sorting and how littering effects the climate, animals and humans. Every year the campaing ends with a festival with tivoli, food and live performances. Amongs the artists performing were Boris René, Liam Cacatian (aka Liamoo, Winner of Swedish Idol 2016), Elisa Lindström and Nanne Grönvall.
 
As I was looking for information about the event, I noticed there was no proper info about anything really and no info where press could apply for photo-passes. Since I know Boris from earlier I decided to reach out to him and ask if he could help me out instead, which he was gladly to do. I brought Carol with me because it's always much more fun when she's around. Also, I wanted her to meet Boris because I knew she would love his personality.
We arrived to the event in time for us to be able to check out all the things happening around it and photograph anything we found interesting. Liam Cacatian (Liamoo) were the first to perform and I had been looking forward to see him since I enjoyed his own singles. The crowd went crazy when Liam hitted the stage! He clearly was one of the favorites that day. I can't say I was as impressed, he felt a bit insecure on stage. Liam is newly to the whole thing that comes into performing and he only performed the first time when he auditioned for Idol. It's something he can practice on and if he keep up the hard work I think he could be good at it. 
Photograhping Liam on stage were very difficult, he would have the microphone a lot close to his face which covered his mouth. Almost all my pictures of him turned not proper enough for me to post and it was even more difficult because my space were limited. 
I decided to stick around to watch the comotion that appeared when Liam were to meet his fans.
 
Boris was on his way on set and we were to meet him up, but I couldn't resist not taking some quick photographs of Queen Nanne before running to where I was suppose to be. She served attitude, vocals and everything she had into her performance! I loved it!
When Boris arrived there were a lot of people that stopped him to get their photos taken with him. This was the first time I met Boris outside of the Melfest-bubble and it was great to see him in another setting than I'm used to. 
 
Carol and I got let in backstage (aka behind the fences) while we waited for Boris to get through all the people that wanted to get photos. It was funny because Boris told the staff working at the event that we were his photographers and I think they got a bit confused since it was the two of us. I'm not sure who I told but I made a joke that Boris is such a diva that one photographer is not enough and he needs to have two. xD
 
While we were waiting, I took the time to walk around to see where Carol and I were allowed to photograph from and to ask if I were allowed to walk up onstage to take photos from there. Once Boris were done taking photos, he needed to get ready for his set. We found out that the show was getting a bit late, so while we waited we got to catch up a bit and Carol got to introduce herself to Boris. 
If you have been following my content for a while, you know how I always rave about how much I love photographing Boris. That day was not an exception. He's so charasmatic and you can tell how much he loves to be on stage! 
 
It was the first time for me to actual see how Boris interact with his audience while performing. Performing on the Melfest-stage and seeing that is a whole different compared to a set where you are much closer to the audience. I love the vibe with live performance and see how the artists and the audience interact with each other. 
Photograping at this event was a bit of a struggle and the colours were a bit weird. It was my first time photographing an event for several months so I wasn't really used to the set up yet. I guess that's how things can be some times, at least I did my best. 
 
After Boris set, he was going to have a signing for people to get the chance to meet him. When I first heard about the signing, I was super excited because it had been a very long time since I last photographed a signing. Those are one of the most fun events to photograph because there is so much happiness coming from it. 
Watching Boris getting to meet his fans were a lot of fun. It was heartwarming to see how kind and friendly he was towards everyone. When Boris were to take a photo with someone he made sure to stand up from the chair to take the photo. That's not something I've seen a lot of people do, most of the times the artists are behind the table and it kind of creates a "wall" between them and the fans. So I'm sure that people appreciated that Boris did that little extra for them. 
To close the festival, all the main artists were going to perform a couple of songs together. From my experiences, that's very unsual to do but it was a nice idea and I enjoyed it. 
To end this post I would like to say a big thank you to Carol for joining me to this event. It wouldn't have been as much fun as it was without you. I would also want to say thank you to Boris for helping us out to get access to the event and for being so supportive of my work. 
 
This was quite a brief summary of what happened at the PelleKan Festival. Hope you enjoyed reading the stories and seeing my photos. Until next time, ingat!
/Lizel