Lizel Strömberg

Pussy Riot | My first Russian concert
 
These past couple of years, I've started to explore new kinds of musc such as Ukrainian, Filipino, Latin and Russian pop. With a more mature look on music with lyrics I can't understand, I found this new way to explore new music and cultures a lot of fun and learning. 
  (null)
In this post I will share my thoughts and photographs from my first experience to see a Russian concert! I was very surprised to see Pussy Riot being in the lineup to be one of the acts to perform at Liseberg. To be honest, the name Pussy Riot didn't click for me at first and I had to do a bit of a research to know more about who they are and understand what kind of message their music has. Pussy Riot's music is very provocative with strong messages about current events happening in the world.
 
Pussy Riot is a punk rock activist group that have done a lot statements and protest through their music one particular that got a lot of attention in the media was their protest against Putin. Several members of the band got arrested and spent time in jail because of their protest. The story about this event is far more detailed than I can explain but if you are interested in knowing more just google "Pussy Riot" and there's tons of videos and articles about them as a group and the arrest. If you want to get a bit of a view of what I mean with Pussy Riot's music being provocative, you should watch their music video to "Make America Great Again":
The set started of in an interesting way, their intro was a long list of 25 facts about some important things in the world that Pussy Riot want to highlight. If you want to know what I mean with the intro you can watch the video I found on Youtube of it, watch it HERE. The way they had made the intro was to have a prerecorded voice reading these text while showing it on the big screens in the center of the stage. I don't think I have ever seen that kind of intro on a concert before. It was surely different and a bit interesting to hear. But I think many of the people who were there to see the concert got a bit impatient for the concert to start since this intro might have been for about 10 minutes. 
One of the distinct thing in the show is that all of the performing artists on stage are wearing balaclavas. I'm not entirely sure the whole reason behind it but it's a way to stay anonymous and free people. That whoever that want to, are able be a part of Pussy Riot.
What I really liked and appreciated about Pussy Riot's set was the fact that they used the screen behind them to show visuals. They had lyrics to their songs and also translated to the non-russian speaking audience for us to get the chance to understand what their messages in their songs was about. It's a very smart move to have translated lyrics for everyone to feel participated and have a chance to understand the music they were hearing. 
Seeing Pussy Riot perform was very interesting and I really enjoy seeing something different than I'm used to. Before the concert, I had listened through several of their songs and I was pleasant surprised over how many songs that I actually recognized from my research and that I already knew some of the lyrics to.  
Pussy Riot's music might not be for everyone but I would at least recommend you to watch a video or two, to just see and hear what they are about. Their work is important and I want to give them all credits for staying brave and keep doing what they do. 
That was it for me. I hope you enjoyed this post and found something interesting or fun to read about. I really enjoyed seeing a full concert by a russian group for the first time. I hope to see and explore more music from that region and other places in the world. Let me know what you think about what you saw in this post and don't forget to stay tuned for more updates.
 
Until next time, ingat!
/Lizel