Lizel Strömberg

Volvo Ocean Race - The biggest boat race in the world!
Volvo Ocean Race is the biggest boat race in the world, with 12 stops in different countries in the world. The participants in the contest are competing night and day for several days or even weeks for the longer routes. They take turns on who are on the deck and are always on the go, making strategies to get faster and find ways to get ahead of their opponents.
 
You might wonder why I decided to do coverage of this event since this kind of interest isn't something I've been writing about previously. I wanted to take the chance to do some other kind of content and give you a chance to  discover something new. I won't be making these blog posts about the scores and the race since I'm sure there are a lot of other media that does it much better than me. I will simply make my own twist and talk about the event overall and what you can expect from it. 
The hosting cities for Volvo Ocean Race are: 
❥ Alicante
❥ Lisbon
❥ Cape Town
❥ Melbourne
❥ Hong Kong
❥ Guangzhou
❥ Auckland
❥ Itajaí
❥ Newport
❥ Cardiff
❥ Gothenburg
❥ The Hauge
On set you are able to see some of the racing boats and you get the opportunity to board some of the rescue ships that the coast guards and the military use. 
There are multiple food option from different countries for those that are visiting the event for a couple hours. A lot of the food was vegan and they are encouring people about recycling, why it's important and having numerous recycling bins for people to throw their trash. 
I had to admit, I had never attended this event before and I didn't realized how big of an event Volvo Ocean Race really is. There is stores selling different sailing gears such as quality clothing, you get to try out sailing, hear people talk about sustainability in the enviroment and lots of activities for both kids and adults. There's also opportunities to meet some of the teams in the contest and known people in the elit of the sailing scene and there's also interviews with some of the sailers.
 
Even if you don't have a big interest of the sailing race itself, you can still enjoy the event walking by the dock enjoying the activies all around you. 
What is an event without music? Throughout the event there are music acts performing on set, both locals such as students from some of the local schools but also some of Sweden's most well known artists. 
If you only are attending the event to see these artists, I do recommend to take the time to walk around to see what's more of the event. Since you never know who to meet, what you will see or what new things you can discover. Look at the boats, get amazed and take the opportunity to try something new. 
The Youth Academy are also having their own contest for the younger sailers where they get together in teams to show their sailing skills. I think it's nice that they let the youngester to feel apart of the community, to show what they got and eventually get the learning experience and the memories to bring to the future. 
I'm first and firmly a photographer and most of the time I let my photos speak for themselves. I enjoyed creating a new way to share my photos and create content. I hope you got something new from this post. I will be sharing more photos from this event through this week to give you more of an insight of how it looks on set. 
 
Here’s some well informative links about Volvo Ocea Race, the latest scores, schedules and other updates about the event or races:

Everything about the stopover in Gothenburg can be found on the link below:


Until next time, ingat!
/Lizel