Lizel Strömberg

My Top 10 | ESC Songs 2018
Eurovision Song Contest 2018 is just around the corner and as a fan of the music contest, I'm going to share some of my favorites in this lineup. This list is mainly based on the studio versions of the songs. I'm going to keep this post short as I'm not very good at the technically of reviewing songs. I will start from the bottom and end with my favorite in this year. Here we go!
 
10. Rasmussen - Higher Ground
I like the darker sound of this song and the darker voices in the vocals. The production is a bit uplifting, and it's something about it that I just like.
9. ZiBBZ - Stones
I love the attitude and the weight in "Stones".  
8. Lea Sirk - Hvala, ne
I don't know what "Hvala, ne" is about but I'm loving the beat in this song!
7. Equinox - Bones 
The vocals in "Bones" are so good and I'm liking the mood they have created with this song. 
6. MÉLOVIN - Under The Ladder
I have to admit, first I didn't liked "Under The Ladder" that much. It didn't even made it into my toplist, but after hearing it a couple times it had started to grow on me. It's catchy and eventually you can't keep yourself from singing along to the chorus.  
5. Franka - Crazy
I don't have a lot to say about this than just that I really like it.  
4. Sevak Khanagyan - Quami
What I like about "Quami" is how the songs builds up and the fact it's very dramatic in the production. This is actually one of the very few songs from Eurovision this year that I have put on my playlist.  
3. Benjamin Ingrosso - Dance You Off 
You might ask if I'm being partial with picking Sweden as my top 3, but no I'm not. I genuinely like "Dance You Off" enough to pick it as my third in my list. I could have placed it higher but I think I might have got a bit tired of it since it's playing quite a lot in Sweden and the fact that I heard it a lot during Melfest as well.   
2. Mikolas Josef - Lie To Me
"Lie to me" was one of the firsts songs that I listened to when I went through the songs in this year contest and I immediately put it on my playlist after the first listening. It's super catchy and I can't keep myself from singing along. It wouldn't surprise me if Mikolas gets popular in Sweden because of this song since it feels like it's something the Swedes would push here. Also he has basically the whole package already and the teenagers here would most likely start to stan him. 
1. Eleni Foureira - Fuego 
My 2nd and 1th can vary some times depending on what mood I am, but I simply choosed "Fuego" because it's a bop. Everything about the song and Eleni are fierced. I'm loving the production on "Fuego" and it doesn't surprise me since Anderz Wrethov has been in the work for it. "Fuego" is fire and it's 1 of my 4 songs that I've put on my playlist from the lineup. I'm really looking forward to see the performance of it, I've only heard top reviews of it so far!
That was it, my top 10 of the songs in this year's contest. Eurovision will be held in Portugal and the first semifinal is on Tuesday on the 8th of May at 9pm (Swedish time). Second semifinal will be on the 10th of May, 9pm (Swedish time) and the Grand finale will be on Saturday 12th. 
 
I will be watching all of the three shows and follow along as best as I can on Twitter as well. I might be missing parts of the beginning of semifinal 2 and the finale because I will be in Göteborg photographing concerts. Either way, I'm looking forward to the shows of Eurovision Song Contest to start and I can't wait to see how everything goes for Benjamin. Sending him all the luck this week!
Who's your favorite to win this year? Let me know how your top 10 looks like, leave a comment below or reach out on my social medias. I'm curious to know!
 
Until next time, ingat!
/Lizel