Lizel Strömberg

Dance vibes at Kaliffa's Liseberg show
 
I came to Liseberg with barely any knowledge of who Kaliffa was and what songs he had released. This show must have been the first one that I went to without doing any proper research beforehand, I had only listened through the songs on Spotify on my way to Liseberg. The only song I for sure knew from before was his hit "Helt Seriöst" which is a bop! What I had heard from other people and seen on the internet about Kaliffa was that I could expect a show with lots of energy, colours and great dance music. 
To give you a bit of an introduction of who Kaliffa is, I will go through some of the work he has done these past few years in a broad sense for you to get a better intell of what kind of artist he is. Kaliffa is one of the members of Hoffmaestro which has released songs such as "Highway man", "Seize The Day" and "The Storm". 
Kaliffa has left a big impression in the hip hop and reagge scene these past years. He started to feature as a solo artist on a Hoffmaestro song in 2014, but didn't released his first solo song  "Spontanitet" until 2015. After some few single releases, Kaliffa released his first solo album named "Kalibreraren" in 2016. When you listen through the album you get that good feeling vibe from the songs and the rythm are very dance friendly. 
One of the first things that I noticed while the audience started to arrive by the stage was that the crowd was very wide with people in all ages, genders and with different ethical backgrounds. You could tell by seeing the crowd that I was not in the regular pop scene that I often are in when it comes to music, but I didn't mind it at all. It made me more excited for the show since I knew I would experience something different.
The energy level was on top from the very first second Kaliffa and his crew enter the stage, they were full of excitment, hapiness and energy and brought a lot to the stage. Another Hoffmaestro member, David was with him on stage which had a great stage presence as well. He was all over the stage, shot confetti and threw water from the stage. 
It was a lot of fun seeing how many guest appearances Kaliffa had in his show, which made him use his platform to shine a light on other artists as well.  
He had dancers with him and also them got their moment to shine which I really liked. There were also some kids dancing on stage which made a great performance as well but unfortunately I didn't managed to get good photos of them as people were blocking my view.
The vibe in the audience was a lot different than I usually experience which was a big plus. They felt a lot more warmer, people were there to dance and they were more expressive. I guess it might have to do with the fact that the audience were so diverse. 
There were numerous songs that I saw Kaliffa perform which sparked an interest for me to look them up afterwards. 
It has been a while since this concert took place but from what I can remember, I can't find anything about the show to complain about. Everything was on point!
They had a whole set of people working, everything from dancers, guest performers, a liveband and even a photographer who was there to get footage. After seeing Kaliffa's show at Liseberg, I came to realize that I definitely should start paying attention to the more Urban, R&B and hiphop scene in Sweden since it seems there's lots of quality content out there and the kind of content the pop scene lacks can be found there. 
One particular song in the setlist which made more of an impact than the others was "De den" which is featured by Dani M. It's a bop and if you haven't heard it before, you should definitely check it out! 
I must highlight the fact that the whole crew was very professional and I appreciated seeing the diversity on stage. It's not everyday you get to see that many people with different backgrounds on stage at the same time. I think it's important to shed a light on them too. 
You should have heard the excitment of the audience when the first notes of "Helt Seriöst" started to play, everyone went crazy! If you have been in Sweden for the past couple of months, there's no way you haven't heard that song at least once. "Helt seriöst" has been played so many times all over the place and there's no questions why because it's a bop!
After the show, Kaliffa and David jumped off the stage to greet the audience and take photos with people. Signings and meeting artists after the shows at Liseberg isn't something that happens on a regular basis so it was very heartwarming to see Kaliffa and David take the time to say hi to people. 
As I said in the beginning of the post, I hadn't done any thorough research beforehand. This concert was definitely one of the best one's during this summer and one of the concerts that made the biggest impact on me. I’m really glad that I made the decision to attend this show! 
If you ever get the opportunity to see Kaliffa you should definitely do that! I highly recommend it! 
This was it for this time, I hope you enjoyed the post and that you found yourself new music to listen to.
Until next time, ingat!
/Lizel