Lizel Strömberg

Introducing: Sanna Hansson & The Swatchmen
 
One of my ambitions for Kulturkalaset/Europride in Gothenburg was to make sure I did what I could to experience something new with the festival. It could be everything from tasting new food, walking to a new location of the festival or discovering new artists. In this post, I will be introducing you to Sanna Hansson & The Swatchmen in a general sense and share my photographs that I took of them during EuroPride. 
Sanna Hansson & The Swatchmen are a band from Malmö which formed 2015. Sanna Hansson as lead vocals, Phelix Jakobsson on the bass, Oskar Nyberg on the guitar, Kristian Lindberg on the drums and Hampus Hansson on the keys and backing vocals. They create music as they describe as quirky pop with cabaret influcences. The band have been doing numerous gigs around Sweden since their start. Sanna & The Swatchmen released their debut EP in 2017 named "Bye Bye Strawberry Pie" and it contains five songs:
1. Fun At All
2. Dream Girl
3. Theft
4. Can't Change A Man
5. Make It Worse
Whenever I discover new artists I like to do research, not only listen through the discography but I also look at their social medias to get a bit of a insight of who they are as artists. You can tell that they are still very small but you need to start somewhere right? They do have music videos for some of their songs, not as high production as some of the more streamed artists but it's nice seeing that they have some kind of video content out there. Even if it's not as high production yet, you can still get a feeling of who they are as artists and what kind if mindset they have for their music. 
I'm going to be honest, I had never heard about them before Europride and two of the main reasons why I decided to see their show was because I liked their style in fashion that they had an extra thought in their appearence that suits their music style. The other reason was because their music was midtempo and when I did my research they seemed energetic on stage which is always nice when taking photographs. 
I came one or two songs late to their show as I was taking photos somewhere else right before their set. It was the first day of Europride in Gothenburg which you could tell by the fact several of the tents around the area was not completely all setup for the event and the EuroPride/Kulturkalaset backdrop hadn't been put up on the stage yet. 
I liked that the band members were very interactive with each other but also made sure to take the audience in. Sanna Hansson, had good vocals and an expressive stage presence which I liked!
One particular song that I remember from Sanna Hansson & The Swatchmen's set was "Drunk". I like the vibe of the song, a detail I liked in it was Sanna's vocals and Phelix backing vocals in the chorus. Phelix had such a bass sound in his vocal and I don't know if it was the speaker that enhanced it even more, but it really made an impact. 
It was raining a lot that day which made things harder for me to photograph but I ended up getting at least a couple of good shots. I do want to remind you that I'm writing this kind of post mostly based on my personal preferences, I'm mainly a photographer who loves music but don't have enough knowledge to review music in any way professionally.
I won't say that Sanna Hansson & The Swatchmen's music is something I would listen to on a regular basis as their style has a more slower tempo than the music I tend to listen to nowadays, but their music is cathcy in a way. I could see myself listening to them once in a while when I'm in a mood where I don't need to be on my feet and being alert. 
When I get an opening to photograph the drummer of a set, I always take it! It's a bit of a shame how many photographers that doesn't take the time to capture photos of the drummers as well since they are too focused on the front figure.
This guy was basically everywhere on stage and it was so fun to see him doing the most with interacting with everyone! I liked the small details of their set with the feathers on the mic stand, matching outfits and Sanna's details in her outfit like her headpiece. 
Overall I enjoyed the set, it was fun getting to discover new artists. It's something about photographing new people which is a lot of fun since you never know what to expect from them. 
 
I hope you enjoyed this post, that you might found new music to listen to or liked seeing my photographs from the show. If you want to give a follow or get in touch with Sanna Hansson & The Swatchmen you can find their Instagram below or get to know them more through their website: http://www.sannahansson.se/
 
Until next time, ingat!
/Lizel