Lizel Strömberg

Sallyswag, a band with many influences
In today's post I will be sharing my photographs of Sallyswag's set from Europride in Gothenburg. I will also make a brief introduction of the band.  
Sallyswag started 2013 when Erika Risinger decided to start her dreamband, which resulted in 9 members only by women. They are based in Gothenburg where they write and create music. Not long after their start as a band, they had created a unique and fresh repertoire which was ready to get shown at the "Folk- och Världsmusikgalan/Umeå Folk" already in Februari 2014. The members of the band are:
  • Sanna Eriksson - Vocals
  • Aurelia Dey - Vocals
  • Erika Risinger - Violin
  • Ebba Wigren - Drums
  • Nadia Hamouchi - Trumpet
  • Anna Malmström - Clarinet, Bassclarinet
  • Paulina Moberg - Trombone
  • Sanna Sikborn Erixon - Electric guitar
  • Tove Brandt - Electric bass (bass)
  • Nadina Pundins - Electric bass (On parental leave)
All of the members of Sallyswag are freelance musicians and have their own solo projects, bands and careers. They have roots in all different kinds of music styles such as dancehall, RnB/hiphop, pop/jazz, balkan/indigenous music, afro and swedish folksy music. You can notice some of these music styles in the music of Sallyswag. I think it's an interesting mix and their kind of music isn't something you hear nowadays which makes them stand out a bit more. In 2016, Sallyswag released their first album named "Sallswag" which contains 7 songs:
  1. "Ligga"
  2. "Te deseo"
  3. "Du kommer dit du går"
  4. "Pálidomrak"
  5. "Vad jag har lovat"
  6. "You know my name"
  7. "Feminst"
Their music has imprints of politics and a desire to change. You can find their album at iTunes and on Spotify if you want to give a listen to it.  
Unfortunately there is not music videos or any other visuals with Sallyswag. But there are multiple videos on Youtube on their live performances if you would like to see how they are like live on stage. I did found one video on their own channel which is a "live session" of the songs "Akta Dig" and "UH". 
I hadn't heard about Sallyswag before looking at the lineup for Europride but their concept peeked my interested. When I saw that "Aurelia Dey" was in the band, I had to look it up more since I recognized her name. I've done research of her music before as I had try to plan to see her own solo concert at a previous occasion. I would recommend you to check out her music as well as I think the typ of music she makes solo could be something in the liking of the target group I have for my content. I will put one of her recent releases for you to see what you think. :)  
 
I know I've said it before but it's very rare to see a set with only women on stage performing. At those rare times that I actually see it, I appreciate the set a lot more. I think it's very important to give women more space in the music scene and push them to get the same exposure as male musicians. It's also important to show people, specially young girls that there are a space for them as well to become musicians. 
As a classical trained musician I really appreciate hearing all the different instruments live in Sallyswag's music. You rarely get to hear more classical instruments being played live in a concert except for when it comes to orchestras. It was very nice getting to hear all of the instruments but specially the violin, the clarinet and trombone as it's more rare to get the chance to hear someone play on those instruments. 
 
 
Unfortunately there is not more for me to share when it comes to their content as they don't have a lot of video footage/visuals uploaded. I did enjoy getting to see a new band and to photograph people I've not seen before.  
 
If you want to check out their social medias you can find them on Facebook and Instagram.
 
 
 
Visa det här inlägget på Instagram

Vi är så himla glada att vi får följa med på en Så jävla PK kryssning!! 😍😍🔥🔥🎼🎼💥🌺🎺💚🎤 fixa biljetter NU! 9-10 nov drar vi!

Ett inlägg delat av Sallyswag (@sallyswagofficial) 19 Sep 2018 kl. 12:20 PDT

 
That was it for this time. I hope you liked the post and seeing my photographs! More posts from Europride are on it's way so stay tuned for more content!
 
Until next time, ingat! 
/Lizel